Southern California DUI Attorneys
If you’ve been arrested for or charged with driving under the influence (DUI) of drugs or alcohol, a Southern California DUI attorney can help you through this difficult situation. A DUI can result in serious penalties as well as significant collateral consequences that will impact your entire life.
You need someone from the very beginning who will make sure your rights are respected. An experienced criminal defense attorney at 24/7 California Law can evaluate your case and scrutinize the prosecution’s evidence against you. We will use all of our knowledge to help you obtain the best outcome possible in your case. Call our DUI lawyers located conveniently near all Southern California residents today, at (909) 337-6483.
What Is A DUI?
You may be charged with driving under the influence if you are suspected of operating a vehicle while intoxicated by alcohol or other drugs. Drugs may include marijuana or prescription drugs that you are taking legally. If you are not in control of your vehicle or show signs of intoxication, you may be arrested and charged. A Southern California DUI attorney is your best choice to evaluate your situation, as well as help you understand your charges and options ahead.
Types Of DUI Charges
If you have 0.08 percent or more alcohol in your blood (blood alcohol content (BAC), whether or not you appear to be intoxicated, you are over the “legal limit” and may be charged with a per se DUI. Your blood must be tested at this level within three hours after driving to be convicted. However, if you are driving a commercial vehicle, your legal limit is 0.04 percent. California has a zero tolerance law, and it is illegal for anyone under the age of 21 to drive with a BAC of 0.01 or higher. Hiring an experienced DUI attorney can greatly help your case, as your defense attorney will challenge the results of your BAC tests and work to help you defeat a DUI charge all together.
What To Expect If You Get Arrested
You are understandably overwhelmed when you see the red and blue lights of a police car in your rearview mirror. However, if you know what to expect during a DUI stop and arrest, it can eliminate some of the stress.
When They Ask You To Step Out Of Your Vehicle
You should slowly and calmly unfasten your seat belt, then open the car door, and step out of your car.
When They Ask You Questions
Although you are required to identify yourself and provide car registration and insurance information, you are not required to answer incriminating questions. Politely refuse to answer questions.
If They Ask To Search Your Car
If the officer has reason to believe you have alcohol or drugs in your vehicle, he will not ask to search. He will just do it. However, if he asks, you can refuse. Politely tell him that you do not want him to search the vehicle. However, if he insists, allow him to complete the search. An experienced local DUI attorney can challenge an illegal search and seizure, and get you that much closer to getting your DUI charges reduced or dismissed entirely.
If They Administer DUI Tests
In order to gather evidence of your intoxication, the officer may conduct a breathalyzer or field sobriety tests, such as the horizontal gaze nystagmus (HGN) test, the walk-and-turn test, or the one-leg-stand test. You can refuse these tests; however, you may receive additional penalties for refusing a breath, blood, or urine test.
If you are convicted of a DUI, you will face significant statutory penalties as well as collateral consequences. Your statutory penalties will depend on how many previous DUIs you have been convicted of.
- First DUI – You may face up to 96 hours in jail, fines of up to $2,000, and a driver’s license suspension of up to six months.
- Second DUI – You may face up to 90 days in jail, up to $2,000 in fines, and a two-year driver’s license suspension.
- Third DUI – You may face up to 120 days in jail, up to $2,000 in fines, and a three-year license suspension.
- Fourth DUI – You may face up to three years in prison, up to $10,000 in fines, and a four-year license suspension.
Defenses For DUI Charges
DUI charges can be devastating. However, a skilled Southern California DUI attorney can help you build a strong defense, which may include the following DUI defense tactics:
- Challenging the initial traffic stop
- Challenging any road block that may have been set up
- Showing that your rights were violated
- Challenging the results of chemical or field sobriety tests
Need A Southern California DUI Attorney?
The severity of DUI charges vary from county to county across all of California. If you’ve been arrested or charged with a DUI, you need a DUI attorney who knows the Southern California Court System, and who will aggressively fight for you and your future. Contact us for a free evaluation or call 24/7 California Law today at (909) 337-6483.